Texas License-To-Carry (LTC) Application Fees

There are three standard fees when going through the process to receive a Texas License-To-Carry card. They are as follows:

  1. Instructor Fee: Varies. The state does not set this fee, the instructors set their own fee for their class sessions.
  2. Fingerprint Fee: $9.95 and is set by the fingerprinting company.
  3. Application Fee: Varies by condition. See Application Conditions and fees below.

License To Carry a Handgun (LTC) applicants may be eligible for a discount and/or certain exemption(s) based on what condition they apply under.

As of September 1, 2017 the following application fees apply:

Application Conditions

Standard Condition

Individuals who do not meet the requirements for any discount.

Original/New Application Fee = $40

Renewal Application Fee = $40

Active Judicial Officer/Supervision or Juvenile Probation Officer

Individuals who are serving as judges or justices of the supreme court, the court of criminal appeals, a court of appeals, a district court, a criminal district court, a constitutional county court, a statutory county court, a justice court, or a municipal court; or a federal judge who is resident of Texas; or persons appointed and serving as associate judges; or a Texas Supervision or Juvenile Probation officer.

Original/New Application Fee = $25

Renewal Application Fee = $25

Retired Judicial Officer

Individuals who were serving as judges or justices of the supreme court, the court of criminal appeals, a court of appeals, a district court, a criminal district court, a constitutional county court, a statutory county court, a justice court, or a municipal court; or a federal judge who is resident of Texas; or persons appointed and serving as associate judges.

Original/New Application Fee = $25

Renewal Application Fee = $25

Active Military/Active Texas Military Member/Active Texas Peace Officer/State Correctional Officer (TDCJ)/ County Jailer

Individuals currently serving in the military OR who were honorably discharged within the last 365 days; or Licensed peace officers under Chapter 1701, Occupations Code, and are employed as a peace officer by a Texas law enforcement agency; or Texas Department of Criminal Justice (TDCJ) Correctional Officer; or an Active Texas Military Member; or County Jailer.

Original/New Application Fee = $0

Renewal Application Fee = $0

Honorably Retired Texas Peace Officer

Individuals who were licensed as peace officers under Chapter 1701, Occupations Code, and who were honorably retired from having been employed full-time or as a reserve peace officer by a Texas law enforcement agency.

Original/New Application Fee = $25

Renewal Application Fee = $25

Retired Federal Officer

Individuals who are honorably retired Officers of the United States who were eligible to carry a firearm in the discharge of the officer’s official duties.

Original/New Application Fee = $25

Renewal Application Fee = $25

Senior Citizen

Individuals who are at least 60 years of age at the time of application.

Original/New Application Fee = $40

Renewal Application Fee = $35

Indigent

Individuals who fall below the poverty threshold as set forth by the Federal Poverty Guidelines.

Original/New Application Fee = $40

Renewal Application Fee = $35

Felony Prosecuting Attorney/United States attorney/Assistant United States Attorney/Texas Attorney General/ Assistant Texas Attorney General

Individuals who are elected or employed attorneys representing the state in the prosecution of felony cases; or an United States attorney; or an Assistant United States Attorney; or a Texas Attorney General; or an Assistant Texas Attorney General

Original/New Application Fee = $0

Renewal Application Fee = $0

Veteran (Honorably Discharged)

Individuals honorably discharged from military service.

Original/New Application Fee = $25

Renewal Application Fee = $25

Other / Assistant Prosecutor/

Individuals who are prosecuting attorneys or assistant prosecuting attorneys

Original/New Application Fee = $40

Renewal Application Fee = $40

Instructor Certification/Online Course Provider

Certified Instructors are individuals trained and certified by Texas Department of Public Safety to instruct the License To Carry a Handgun training courses to the public; Online Course Providers are individuals trained and certified by the Texas Department of Public Safety to instruct, online, the classroom portion of the License to Carry Handgun Proficiency Course.

Original/New Application Fee = $100

Renewal Application Fee = $100